Personality Cafe banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm an INFJ, and I work as a supervisor for the student workers in a college library. It's a small college and a small group of employees (about 10, depending on the semester). I am also responsible for hiring students, so I get a good chance to evaluate them before they start working for me, but even the best workers inevitably have times where they need to be corrected or reprimanded.

My problem is that although I have very high standards (for myself as well as my student workers), my people-pleasing tendencies get in the way when I notice something that needs attention/correction. There was a time in the past where I needed to give my students a firm warning about a conduct issue, and I finally settled on a written letter warning. I simply didn't feel that I could make my case as firmly as was necessary if I addressed the issue in person.

I'm curious as to whether you all think using written communication that way is sometimes permissible or even advantageous. However, there is no doubt that I still need to become more comfortable with actual verbal discipline or confrontation. Any tips on how to overcome that people-pleasing tendency in the workplace?

·
Registered
292 Posts
If someone is to interpret your warning as an offense, then it's their problem, you just want to give light to an issue.

·
Registered
4,347 Posts
Ahem... well, I tend to march to the beat of my own drum so I've been on the receiving end of university or workplace discipline. I often got the sense that it was difficult for them to do it, partly because of nerves, but also because it could compromise our relationship. Probably didn't help that I often held a bit more notoriety and perhaps in the back of their mind they worried about creating an "us" (students/coworkers) vs them (professor/management) situation.