Personality Cafe banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,934 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As an observation, i notice some INTJs, including myself, have jobs that don't fit into the idea of an INTJ.

For my short list, i was a baker, secretary, furniture delivery boy, and teacher. One of my INTJ friends was a bouncer/manager at a strip club. I don't mean manager in the sense that he pimped out the girls but rather dealt with their internal disputes and general moodiness about performing.

So, if in general we are attracted to research and organizational jobs, what causes INTJs to not seek more appealing jobs?

Reactions: Functianalyst

·
Administrator
INTJ - ILI - 8w9 - Grunt
22,849 Posts
Agreed. Life..... and being told in a repetitive manner by your parents (and everyone else) that because they can't understand you that you simply must buckle under and conform. A model in my teens because my father thought I was pretty. A bar manager because I was good at it (my organisational skills). There was a huge pressure for me to be anything but myself.

I don't believe I am lost however. A job is simply something you do, not who you are.

·
Registered
424 Posts
As an observation, i notice some INTJs, including myself, have jobs that don't fit into the idea of an INTJ.

For my short list, i was a baker, secretary, furniture delivery boy, and teacher. One of my INTJ friends was a bouncer/manager at a strip club. I don't mean manager in the sense that he pimped out the girls but rather dealt with their internal disputes and general moodiness about performing.

So, if in general we are attracted to research and organizational jobs, what causes INTJs to not seek more appealing jobs?