Personality Cafe banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
707 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've come to the conclusion that ENTIRELY not enough people have the slightest idea about how to give a good massage. Being a massage therapist, I'm going to go ahead and give some tips on the RIGHT way to do it. Feel free to ask questions. I've bolded the main points.

1. WARM the lotion/oil in your hands before you apply it on the back. I swear, if I have another guy give me a massage by squirting freezing cold lotion on my back, I'm going to lose it.

2. Spread the lotion/oil once you have warmed it up with your hands over each side of the spine, covering the sides. This works best when you give a massage standing by the person's head. Go down from the shoulders, to the lower back, to the sides, and back up to the shoulders.

3. AVOID THE SPINE. If you want to apply lotion over their spine, so be it. DO NOT MASSAGE THE SPINE. It's a bone with lots of nerves attached to it. It does not feel good massaged.

4. How to find a knot:
Muscles are supposed to run smoothly and feel smooth. Think about a girl with long hair. All the hair fibers are smooth when it's brushed. When there is a knot in the hair, you can feel it, kind of like a bump. That is essentially what is going on with your muscles. Your blood flows through the muscle fibers as it filters our your body. When there is a knot, all the "junk" (toxins and such) gets caught up there. This is why you feel uncomfortable when you have one. As you're massaging a person's back, you will feel a little "pop." This is a knot. There can be multiple pops, or just one big one. As you work the big one out, you will find there are many little ones. These knots DO move.

5. How to get a knot out: