Personality Cafe banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the MBTI system and long time researcher on the enneagram. It seems to me that when one finds their type in this system, the shadow is clearly the opposite type or they represent the parts of the shadow or something. It seems that this could be seen as just as important as learning one's conscious type.

·
MOTM August 2012
3,467 Posts
I would take the Jungian perspective and argue that understanding the shadow is more important than knowing type which is just the outer or conscious presentation of a person. To only pay attention to type is akin to only paying attention to the exterior of a house while not paying any attention to the inside.

Now obviously the shadow is so broad that one cannot ever truly know the extents of it (how can you ever figure out all the things about yourself for which you are unaware?), but having some sort of reconciliation with the shadow is fundamental to Jung's premise of typology in the first place. That the Introverted Feeling type has an Extraverted Thinking shadow, that the in-the-clouds intuitive type has a practical sensation type shadow and so forth. To get caught up in the outer presentation of type is largely to miss the point and I think one of the basic flaws of MBTI. Myers generally considered the lower two functions to be 'shadow' (not necessarily in Jung's way) but basically as troublemaking, her focus is basically on the dominant and auxiliary functions.

·
Registered
4,382 Posts