Personality Cafe banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3,765 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been working since I was 16 years old, Latin América. Just like many of you I've seen how talking about relationship and marriage also involves money in many ways: budget, lifestyle, personal preferences etc, there are good and bad angles, it depends on the couple-relationship. But... money can bite your tail and surprise you, perhaps in not so positive ways.

I've never been affected or felt "less"... til now (and it's not funny to accept such fact).
Nope, not so young, I'm in my middle 30s.

Money does not bring fear or happiness, but sure it can make you feel insecure. HAD no fear but WAS CAUTIOUS on the kind of woman I dated, meaning: their lifestyle, income, family traditions. Sadly many of that means economic class. We all can date anyone but life teaches you about lifestyle and compatibility.

Funny enough: (1) had a relationship with one woman who ended up confessing, sharing with me about her wealthy father. As a gift, each sister got 3 houses and sure their worries and plans over the future changed. I was invited "when married" to come in and choose with her one house, just... sit there. I hated the idea and tried us to build something together, not just "extending your hands and receive". (2) Later had another relationship, they were wealthy and traveling around Europe a lot. She was average in lifestyle and hard working, distant from her wealthy father. LATER her father trying to keep money in side the family started providing clients for her to work more and earn a lot more. Sure it affected our "plans". Still I felt no threat, just no stability on our future views.