Personality Cafe banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Master
1,886 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Musicians and performers of all types: How do you feel on stage? are you afraid, confident, fearless or something inbetween?

I wanted to ask this question since being the absolute center of attention is probably the last thing that an introvert wants. It's always been my biggest fear being infront of a crowd, but it's also my biggest dream to be infront of a crowd. I'm a guitarist, singer, pianist and drummer and I've always had huge butterflies before I'm about to play. I get super nervous and can usually barely sit still, constantly going over what I'm about to do. Next thing I know once I have my instrument in hand and I'm walking on stage it all disappears. It's like a switch gets flipped and I feel like I belong up there when moments ago it was the last thing I wanted to do. I lose my self in the music and the atmosphere while I play but when it's over the switch flips back, usually as I walk off the stage. The result is I'm bombarded with people thanking me and it's usually overwhelming since I'm back to introverted me.

How about everyone else?

Please share your experiences about being infront of a crowd and how it effects you.

·
Registered
3,223 Posts
I used to feel terrible and did fold once which was excruciating in front of a full hall. But I went on a course run by an INFJ (we perform together now in an ensemble) and it really helped.
I was thinking too much about it in advance and letting my nerves become uncontrollable so now I don't think about it all until I'm about to play. Then I'm just thrust into the music and that's all I need to focus on.

Luckily a harp is big enough to hide behind which is one reason I was attracted to it I think!

·
Registered
223 Posts
When I'm performing with other musicians, like when I was playing guitar in a band, it wasn't so bad. I also wasn't the lead singer or anything (lead singer was an ISFP, btw).