Personality Cafe banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey friends, got a question for you on what I should do in regards to school.

Here is the summary:

I've been with my girlfriend for 7 years this November. We want to move in with eachother in a year or two. Right now I'm taking a break from college to pay off some debt so we can make this happen. I got my Associates Degree this last June, but I want to finish my bachelors in either English, Human Resources, or Liberal Arts, but I havn't settled on which I would like to study. My dilemma remains mostly in deciding what to study to have the best future and where to go because the location of the school will either cost me more or save me more money.

Which sounds like a better option to you and why:

A) Go back to a previous college that I went to to get my bachelors in English that would take 3 years.
Pros:
I would also automoatically have a minor in Env. Studies due to previous courswork.
I love the campus and always have.
The college is cheaper ($298/credit) than option B or C ($375/credit).
I am really interested in English.

Cons:
It is 55 minutes away from where we would like to move to.
It is 45 minutes away from my job.
I would have to go part time and It would take 3-4 years.
Books are a seperate cost.
English classes are mostly during the day and sometimes in the evening.
Not sure what I would do with a degree in English yet.

B) Go to a new school to get a degree in Human Resources or Liberal Arts in an accelerated program that would take 1.5 to 2 years.

Pros:
The college is 10 min. from where we want to move to.
The college is 30 min. from my current job.
I could take one class at a time for four to five weeks and then move on to another, year round.
Finished in 1.5-2 years.
Evening and night courses only.
Job market looks better for HR.

Cons:
The college is more expensive, but includes books in the cost ($375/credit).