Personality Cafe banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Banned
644 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right now, I'm in my second year of Computer Engineering and I have to admit, I'm a little skeptical of whether or not I can bloom in this career path. Keep in mind, I do not desire to "brush past" this major, like piggy-backing off other students, or selling my self short on homework. I want the majority of my accomplishments to reflect my intellect.

So, far I have good marks in all of my general study classes (All Calculus, Diff EQ, Physics, and writing). But now I'm in a low-level programming course and I really seem to struggle at times in the lab.

This is my question for you posters if this situation applies to you: did you switch majors at this critical point (when you were doubtful of your abilities) or did you tough it out with much help? And if you did tough it out, did you become self-sufficent and confident of yourself in what you learned?

·
Registered
853 Posts
I'd stick with it if I were you. Is computer engineering something you're passionate about? Something that you love enough to base your life around? If so, I'd DEFINITELY recommend you stick with it. I'm a media/film production major and I felt like an idiot the first time I tried to use a recording studio. It was confusing and intimidating. But I stuck with it for a couple hours (exceeding my scheduled studio time by a whole damn lot) until I had learned how to record and mix audio in several different ways. I became self sufficient and confident with what I learned.