Personality Cafe banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
705 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in my first year of university, studying psychology. I really want to move out, partially because it'd be beneficial to the time it takes to travel to the university, but mostly because I just feel like I'm ready for it and it's my time to start a life of my own.

To facilitate this I currently work at a fastfood restaurant, which pays minimum wage, and to be honest, the work itself isn't that bad. I'm alright with mindlessly dumping stuff in oil for hours on end as long as it helps me have some sort of income. My coworkers are pretty friendly people as well.

Problem is that I have to work 4-5 days a week to get a decent salary with which I'd be able to pay the rent and such out of this, and my manager is practically forcing me to work especially in evenings and weekends during the busiest hours because I'm a fairly efficient employee.

Because of this job, after going to lectures and study groups, I barely have time left to see my old friends or make new ones from university. (Or time to look for a better job, for that matter.) I usually have 2 free evenings, one of which'll pretty much standardly be spent drinking at a student association and having superficial drunk conversations with a variety of people, maybe having some one-time hookup, and the other spent just being by myself, finally enjoying some alone time, or having carefully planned hang-outs with close friends now and then.

I feel like all this isn't very fulfilling to me at all right now. Is this a common first impression/feeling of college? It feels pretty dull and lonesome. I've only just started university and it all comes across as pretty depressing to me. I really miss the close friendships, the long conversations, the romances... suddenly everything just seems shallow.