Personality Cafe banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Banned
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum and really relieved to have found it. I'm 26 years old and finishing college. I have 2 years left to go... so I use the word "finishing" in more of a wishful way. I'm studying techincal writing. Writing is my passion and I am an INFJ in every sense of the word.

For the past 8 years of my life, my work life has been hell. I somehow went down the path of being a hair stylist. I fell into it. My senior year of high school, I had enough credits to graduate early. It was a spur of the moment decision to go to cosmetology school half of the day while I was a senior in high school. I hated it from day one, but my parents would not let me quit because they had a very foolish rule (but it made sense to them) that once you start something, you must finish it no matter what. I was really devastated. This career path has caused me a lot of depression (and financial stress because I was never able to support myself well in it.. it's very hard to make money in this field because it's oversaturated and it's even harder if you don't absolutely LOVE it).

So right now I am in school full time and I am not doing hair, but I am torn because I need to be making money and I feel ashamed that I am 26 years old and I really don't have a career path. I feel I should be further along than I am now. This makes me feel like a failure. I can't stand the idea of going to work in a salon again. The problem is, it's not just that I hate it, but I also have the disorder known as BDD. Mirrors are my worst enemy. This disorder is really misunderstood, but let's just say it makes my time at work even harder.