Personality Cafe banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As an ENFP, how do you manage to actually *finish* a self-driven project?

I have serious issues with completing any creative project and it's beginning to piss me off...

At uni, I managed to finish (most) work (about a 10 mins before the deadline lol). But I don't have that kind of intentional, unchangeable structure in my life now, as I graduated.

I must have started about 5 short stories and countless crafty projects in the last 2 years - and none have been completed. The only kinds of things I have managed to "complete" would be impulsive poems or very very short stories that splurge in one sitting. Anything that takes multiple hours to complete, well, is just shoved to the back of a drawer. It's like it's the only way I know how to operate.

Do you have any tips on how to complete a project? How do you convince yourself a project is worth sticking with, before starting a new fruity idea? How do you stop compulsively brainstorming and actually follow through with one thing? Do you have any examples of what you have completed and how long it took?

·
Registered
4,567 Posts
Carrot and stick technique. Carrot works better for me.

Instead of just buying a game I held off until I'd done the first pass of my project. I also gave myself a deadline and, just in case, had my partner keep tabs on me too. It worked.

·
Registered
6,850 Posts
I developed my Te.

I want something to show for my time, so I finish the writing projects I start. I write short stories in a single go -- I don't walk away from them. I write novels by devoting time each day to working on them, even when I don't feel like it, by setting a deadline for myself / a final word count, and by rewarding myself for accomplishing things.