Personality Cafe banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Did you ever have an upgrade idea, for a process or such, that you felt would be a massively beneficial improvement to the current usage; only to hear someone pull that (tyranny of the masses) "wet blanket" stifler.
"If it works, don't fix it."
A bit more than a year ago I came up with, what I thought might be a good counter move, "I'm not trying to fix it, I'm trying to the next level."
I've looked forward to a chance to use but, maybe I've shared around so much that someone, or group, spread the word to refrain from providing me a chance to use it.
Like who? Maybe the Nurse Ratched SWAT team in their regular newsletter.

·
Premium Member
INTJ 5w6 Sp/Sx 593
1,555 Posts
I used to work in the oilfield as a shop hand, and I would be in charge of the orders going out to location.
I tried to incorporate deadlines for when people can order things, just so I have enough time to get the products, and organize them effectively without the time crunch.
Of course, I would try to make exceptions for "important" items that crews absolutely needed. But besides that, tough shit if people ordered things late.

Of course, all the crews thought all the things they ordered were important. So they sort of just disregarded by system altogether, even though it was more efficient for everyone involved.
Less time crunch to get the supplies, the less chance for mistakes to happen, and it takes the stress and workload off the suppliers, me, and the crew coordinators.
But I guess people didn't take a 20 year old shop hand very seriously. When I proposed my strategy, the usual reply I'd get would be "the 'Patch has always been this way. You can't change it".
I don't care if the "patch" has always operated like this. I can't see why streamlining a process to make the whole thing better for everyone is such an incomprehensible thing. But whatever.