Personality Cafe banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

I'm looking for some help because I keep coming across a discrepancy between my results from the traditional four letter tests and my results from cognitive functions tests. I'm pretty well versed in typology; I've been studying it for nearly two years now, I've read several books and do a lot of internet research. I fully understand the way each cognitive function works and the rules holding them all together.

When I take a standard test I always come out as an INTP. On the cognitive functions test, however, my dominant functions come out as Ni and Ti. While the exact percentages vary, Ni comes out the highest more often than not. The test equates these results with a likelihood of being INTJ.

I've put my latest results at the bottom of the post if anyone wants to take a look.

One of the most important things to me is not contradicting myself; either in what I do or what I think. I have to be clear, always, what principles govern my life and it really stresses me out to be inconsistent. Each of my principles must be backed up with solid reasoning. I sometimes test myself by imagining someone asking me why I believe something (for example, honesty) is so important. If I can't explain logically and clearly why straight away, I have to seriously reconsider the principle.

This strikes me as quintessentially Ti and not very Te. But- unfortunately- I also think Ni best describes my perceiving function. I would be lying if I said I saw Ne in myself much at all, which throws INTP in question as a personality model. My intuition feels very internal, never action based. It manifests in imagistic thinking and a great love of surrealist art (among other things).

In short: in makes sense to me that my first two functions are Ni and Ti, but this is not a possible combination. What's a girl to do?