Personality Cafe banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey. I am new to Jung's typology and the MBTI personality types overall. And my English sucks so please bare with me.

What's the difference between Ni and Ne as far as lyrics are concerned? There was another thread about this but people discussed all kinds of creative writing (which includes books and etc.) and i'd like to focus on music specifically since songs are typically short and unlike the material in (fictional) books, they don't necessarily need to embody "a story" if that makes any sense.

Sure, there are plenty of musicians that incorporate a lot of storytelling into their writing but not all of them do that. Lyrics (outside of the mainstream trashy pop realm, of course) often contain vague accounts of the past, statements and phrases that are random or somehow connected (or both). So... how does one spot different cognitive functions in music lyrics?

I know that Ne is really abstract and that it can present itself as a random/chaotic usage of metaphors. For ex. Kurt Cobain's songwriting style. Whereas Ni seems more focused and to-the-point. Jerry Cantrell's songwriting comes to mind.

But isn't Ni abstract too? What's the main difference between Ni and Ne? I know that Ni is more focused and often embodies a stream of consciousness a.k.a. it isn't as random/messy as Ne but can a Ni-dom write lyrics similar to Cobain's if they're trying to be cryptic on purpose and if every single one of these random combinations of weird metaphors have a specific meaning to them? How would one then understand whether the musician is using Ni or Ne?