Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3,338 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, excluding my hometown, I am hopeless at reading a map and finding my way around. I have no internal compass. My husband laughs at me because he will be talking about a restaurant and I'll say I've never been there. Where he will reply, "yes you have, remember....". I am an expert at not remembering where I parked. I try to be endearing and make excuses "I don't pay attention to small details like WHERE I AM ON THIS EARTH". He thinks it's funny, some people think I'm mentally challenged lol. When I was younger, I was much better, there's just too much going on inside my mind to care.

Is it early onset Dementa? (I'm also bad with proper nouns lol)
Or just lack of spatial skills?

Thank God for the GPS.

·
Registered
799 Posts
I'm like this too. No natural sense of direction at all. I've had to develop a system for myself where I memorise certain points and their order. That way I can navigate to a place. Getting back might be a problem because things look different from the other side, so I get confused.

When someone says: 'you know how to get there, we've been there a million times' I answer: 'yes we have, just assume I have no idea where that is'.

Though, I'm glad that now I've gotten a lot better, by driving by road numbers and can actually read a traditional map.

Nah, don't think it's dementia. It's just that certain people like me and you don't have the directional type spatial skills. There are two types: directional and locational. Former understands how to draw the arrows of the compass to the real world and the former remembers places of interest.

·
Registered
3,338 Posts
Discussion Starter #3