Personality Cafe banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,869 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
do you guys relate to this? i've had times where i found myself in confrontational situations, and I stupidly decided not to stand up for myself. i dont know if this was a conscious decision though... i think i instinctively became focused on creating harmony/alleviating the negative emotions, which basically ended up with me stepping over my own self to do so. and years later in life, i remember this, and i start feeling like an idiot, thinking "UH WHY did you do that.....?" =( i had a crappy day today so that's one of the issues that came up. and i guess i get upset about this because i feel like i never got to stand up for myself or have others my side of the story. and then i feel more crappy..

·
Banned
588 Posts
Yes, definitely, I am just beginning to correct this now, although it is difficult to learn just how to properly set boundaries.

My problem has been (at least very recently) that there are so many people who want to take advantage of me, or who just want a piece of my time and attention that I just can't find the energy to deal with them all. Like, not to pay attention to them, but rather to put them back properly where I want them to be, if that makes sense. It's hard being so introverted... dealing with so many people gets really draining.

But yeah, for most of my life I was basically a big pushover.

·
Registered
473 Posts
That has been a huge issue with me. I feel like a betray myself in order to keep peace all the time. I've done this to the extreme on occasion. I became victim of sexual harrassment mostly because I couldn't stand up for myself, and was hoping he would be sensitive enough to see that I was not interested. Wrong. I've allowed mainly men to walk all over me my whole life, which has done a lot of emotional damage. I would love to learn to be more assertive and less of a doormat. :unsure:

Reactions: alice144

·
Banned
3,849 Posts