Personality Cafe banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
391 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently, I got into a little squabble in a thread about infjs and infps. The squabble isn't all that important, but I did gain some food for thought in the thread. One of the key issues that came up was that we tend to assume how a person feels, which makes sense because we use Fe quite a bit. The issue brought up is one I think about quite a bit, though. How accurate can our insights truly be? Don't get me wrong, Fe has been useful in the past. I got all of my jobs by reading body language, I'm a decent salesman, I generally know how to calm things down before they reach their breaking point, etc. However, I have also been wrong quite a bit and have misfired and/or made things worse. The truth is that we can only do so much with body language and behavior patterns. We are not mind readers. Peoples thought and emotional processes are complex and unique. I suppose acknowledging this leads to the question, just how authentic or accurate is our Fe? Do we really feel as other people do, or are we just really adequate guessers. Furthermore, based on this, how much should we trust our Fe insights?

·
Registered
3,530 Posts
Sometimes Fe made me take others' emotions rather personally, seeing them being directed at me or caused by me. Sometimes people's negative emotional current made me want to be a peacemaker, not bothering to find out why they felt that way.

Whenever Ni and Ti would contribute more, my conclusion and reaction would be more objective.

One good thing about Fe is that I am always able to look at a big picture later on (after the heat of the moment). I can say sorry if I made a mistake. I can forgive if the offender gives me good reasons. Fe is not so stubborn to enable me to let go.

·
Registered
391 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·