Personality Cafe banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
553 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a hard time in college with planning how I will study. I try to be extremely thorough with my studying and can't move on until I have mastered a certain section of the class. I end up behind, and it just causes me stress. How do I know how thorough is too thorough, and are there any general tips on balancing all my classes? I'm an engineering student undergrad.

·
Registered
69 Posts
I'd employ you over a slap dash engineer any day! Engineering near enough is not always close enough.

sometimes no amount of questioning or looking at something from every angle will make it clear till all the other pieces of the puzzle has been presented. And then it all falls together like magic with no effort.

Perhaps ask yourself if what you are being thorough on, still needs other aspects to be learnt in order to understand or if it is something that needs to be thoroughly understood now.

One way to know /test how well you understand something, is to explain it or teach it to someone else. If you can't, you still need to work on it. If you can, then the lesson is thoroughly understood enough to move on to the next. Yeah?

·
Registered
3,267 Posts
I have a hard time in college with planning how I will study. I try to be extremely thorough with my studying and can't move on until I have mastered a certain section of the class. I end up behind, and it just causes me stress. How do I know how thorough is too thorough, and are there any general tips on balancing all my classes? I'm an engineering student undergrad.
You'll get used to it.
I was once an extremely perfectionist but I changed. I'm not a mess or anything, just more chill.
At first, I had to underline everything with the ruler and perfectly highlight etc
It took me 2 semesters to figure out my way of rewriting my notes and well MY way.