Personality Cafe banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Someone is probably going to tell me that I've posted this under the wrong topic, but I think that the subject matter of this thread is relevant enough to typology.

I took the 23andme DNA test a month ago, and recently received my results. Health reports are no longer available through 23andme.com; however, it's possible to acquire a health report for $5 by importing your raw genetic data file into promethease.com.

The subject of this thread deals with the genes listed in the personality category of the health report - more specifically, I'd like to collect data comparing Myers-Briggs, Enneagram, Cognitive Functions, etc. with the rs53576 (oxytocin/empathy - Rs53576 - SNPedia) gene, the rs4680(warrior/worrier - Rs4680 - SNPedia) gene, and the ​rs1800955 (novelty seeking - http://www.snpedia.com/index.php/Rs1800955) gene. Bear in mind that I have little experience with genetics, so please excuse me if I make a technical error at any point.

Since I am not the best judge of my own personality traits, I won't say whether or not I agree with the personality-related diagnoses of my report. To begin, I'll expound on my results.

Firstly, I have the
rs53576(A;G) gene. This particular genotype allegedly indicates that I may have a lack of empathy.

Secondly, I have the rs4680(G;G) genotype. This is a copied and pasted description of the G;G allele from the promethease website - "less exploratory, higher COMT enzymatic activity, therefore lower dopamine levels; higher pain threshold, better stress resiliency, albeit with a modest reduction in executive cognition performance under most conditions."
I can vouch for the pain threshold part, since it's a tangible effect of this genotype; although I've been tested to have above average intelligence by a gifted program that I was part of in grade school.

Thirdly, I have the