Personality Cafe banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to the personality cafe not quite familiar with the other personality types... What are the most common sterotypessaid about each personality?:crazy:

·
Registered
435 Posts
I hear about how fantastic ENTJ's are ALL of the time. ;)

·
Registered
4,382 Posts
Here's an ENTJ one for starters (ENTJs probably have some of the most pervasive stereotypes around):

Myth: They are ruthless and power hungry

Truth: Um...that can apply to anyone - the above statement is probably worse than the best Forer statements in astrological horoscopes, since it is devoid of meaning in the context of ENTJ - Actually, ENTJs are inferior Fi types, so instead of this making them scary like so many stereotypes make this out to be, I've found no correlation to this IRL - instead, I've noticed that they tend to be anal about living up to a personal values system and tend to give in easily around upholding personal values if they aren't strong in this area - if they have control here, they tend to be rather all-or-nothing with it and get touchy when other people question them here (or at least they think they're being questioned here).

·
Registered
6,529 Posts
I'm not sure if you want to base your ideas of different types on stereotypes, because that could easily lead to assumptions about a person once you do know their type. I could give some examples:

Okay, the stereotype about T's is that they're cold and have stinted emotions or are not very empathetic, whereas the stereotype about Fs is that they're illogical. If you base your ideas on T's and F's on that, you can perhaps, easily be led to believe that a thinker is being cold and unempathetic when they're just basing a decision based on criteria that makes them feel more comfortable and vice versa....