Personality Cafe banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi! I'm a newbie INFP, here. Over the years, I've struggled intensely at finding a career path that doesn't make me utterly miserable! I was a lawyer, which I hated. The inescapable adversarial nature of it, made my skin crawl. I lasted 4 years before resigning. Then I took a public servant job. That was excruciatingly mind numbing and soul-crushingly repetitive. As a lawyer, I was constantly on edge, but as a public servant, I was constantly nodding off at my desk. I lasted for 2 years.

Since I was young, I'd fantasized about being a nurse, because I respect & admire what they do so much! I thought, I've got plenty of savings, now is the time to go to nursing school! Halfway through the course, I found myself starting to hate it! Constantly feeling under the gun, always being put on the spot by doctors & patients' families, running about the hospital like a headless chicken, feeling emotionally exhausted from everyone's concurrent demands, & feeling suffocated by the hierarchical & regimented working environment + mind numbing repetitive nature of the job. So I quit.

I know I sound like a useless, flaky, spoilt loser; and believe me, I feel very guilty about it! But there's no point to continue nursing school when I know I'll hate it as much as I hated being a lawyer & a public servant. So I applied for a 2 year early childhood education program. Kindy teachers don't earn much, but from my experience, the money I earned (& I earned a lot as a lawyer), means nothing when I felt like slitting my wrists every morning.

My question is... from your experience/ knowledge as an INFP, what are your thoughts on preschool teaching as a career for INFPs?

·
Registered
84 Posts