Personality Cafe banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Banned
2,616 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've noticed for a good part of my life that most people (at least the ones Ive observed) avoid correcting others (unless it's a classroom type situation, our a group of people who know each other well) when they know they are wrong. I feel like it has to do with the fact that a lot of people become offended when what they believe, say, or do is questioned. I've been doing this social experiment for over 2 years now where I would employ incorrect information or mispronounce words to the point that it's comical to both strangers and friends, and would later record if the person corrected me or didn't. Out of 356 situations where I did this only 54 people (33 being friends/family) corrected me. Any thoughts on why people avoid correcting others during a conversation?

Reactions: runnerveran

·
黐線 ~Chiseen~
5,241 Posts
back in the day, such an act would be 'okay'... but nowadays, people take it the wrong way to the extreme and risk getting shot.

"u korect'n me muh'fuka. u korect'n me?" *whips out glock* "wut joo gonn do?"
yea... fear driven civilization now. sad.

·
Registered
6,397 Posts
LOL, it's awesome that you actually did that experiment. :laughing:

I'm a bit like this because it humiliates me (maybe as an INTP) to be wrong and so I like to put things delicately to people if they're mistaken about something, if it needs to be said at all. Sometimes, depending on the belief, people can be really attached to it and it's not really worth getting into. You never know how someone is going to react, even if most of the time they won't care.