Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all, this is my first post so hello :proud:

Well, since I was younger (am 14 now) I've always been interested in psychology. From what I've read about the Myers-Briggs, INFJ make excellent psychologists. What I don't understand though, is that I've also read that we are greatly affected (and, of course, "way" to interested) by other's problems.

What I'm asking is: Even though we would help the person with a problem a lot, wouldn't an INFJ eventually bottle up ALL those problems and "explode"?

Keep in mind I'm new to the personality type thing...this is just from a few posts I've read online.

Thanks

PS: Pardon grammar.

·
Registered
3,474 Posts
It is possible to explode as you say and quit common. For instance an INFJ who takes in an situation from a overdriven Fe for someone may become extremely sensitive about the "subject' at hand. This may lead an INFJ to become paralyzed as to say towards a person till they become effected to the point that this can cause excess stress and dilemmas for them. Sometimes we come across toxic people that become of such a great drain for us and ini the end can cause us to implode.
Many more examples of this, really depends on the individual and how they balance out their functions.

·
Registered
378 Posts
They say counsellors need to be counselled themselves so perhaps if you have a good outlet to recharge and relieve your stress, the job will become less draining. I find that meditation or going for a walk helps calm my emotions, so does confiding in a friend. If you were a therapist you'd probably have some sort of mentor you could go to in order to learn better coping strategies. Other things like art, sports, relaxation, personal development.. whatever you like to do in your downtime shouldn't be neglected if you were overextending yourself beyond emotional stability.