Personality Cafe banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I get the main idea of the MBTI, though not the functions, but I'm completely new to the enneagram theory and know nothing about it yet. I thought it'd be interested to do this...

Main Questions

1. What drives you in life? What do you look for?
I look towards the future and have high ambitions and expectations for myself. Academic knowledge is of high importance to me, as is being self-sufficient and free to explore different places around the world. I want to gain the respect of people.

2. What do you hope to accomplish in your life?
I'd love to make a significant breakthrough in my field of interest. That's not exactly likely, but small contributions would make me happy too. I also want to have travelled to a wide variety of places and cultures.

3. What do you hope to avoid doing or being? What values are important to you?
I seem to avoid becoming complacent. There is always something better to aim for. I don't think I would ever be happy leading an 'average' life based around family and a regular job. I do not want to rely on others' approval for self-esteem or be influenced by what others think I 'ought' to be doing.

4. What are your biggest fears (not including phobias)? Why?
I fear failiure immensley. Being told that I cannot achieve the high standards I set for myself is something I find crushing, as I am of the belief that no matter what I do, I can always get better.

5. How do you want others to see you? How do you see yourself?
I want to be seen as determined, successful, as someone who knows what they want and sets out to get it. I also want to be seen as someone in control of their emotions, however, at the moment, I find that rather difficult. I see myself as a rational person who is ambitious but not deluded. I am an introvert and enjoy my own company. I do not want to be pitied for that character trait.