Personality Cafe banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think my Grandma has a psychological complex. I am fifteen years old, but I am so dependent, I have never used a microwave, stove, washing machine, etc. in my whole life. My Grandma interferes with my spare time, and tries to arrange my schedule. She cleans my room, and plans long and short term goals for me without my permission. If she is present during a conversation with one of my friends, she shoves me out of the way and answers for me, as if I weren't even there. She constantly rings up the school for updates about me, even though I am a high achieving academic student, and I'm preparing for the final performing exams on my instrument. I can't spend any time in my room, on my own, even though I would like to, because she constantly pesters me, wanting to know every detail about what I am doing, or to start planning the next day for me. Even my teachers have commented on my lack of independence at home. If I'm not following my Grandma's plans, she shuns me, and throws a hissy-fit like a little girl. If I do follow her plans, it is never enough, or it didn't count because it passed some imaginary deadline that never existed before. I've tried to tell her I want more independence, and to organize and control my own life, but she calls me 'unreliable', and 'disorganized', even though I've never had the chance. If I try to take some control, or express an opinion or idea, she lashes out. Also if I try to change something about her, like inform her about healthy eating, or move something of hers she gets really defensive. Its driving me insane. My grades have been dropping at school because I am simply too psychologically stressed and in a state of frustrated rebellion to be efficient. I see a psychologist, but all of the sessions end out pinpointing to her. I really don't know what to do? I get verbally abused if I try to change anything about her. I really can't deal with this