Personality Cafe banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new here. I'm an INFJ and 4w5. I've never used a site like this before so I'm sorry if I do some things wrong. I have a coping mechanism that I have used for most of my life that I am pretty ashamed of. I tend to be rude on purpose in social situations when I am getting overwhelmed with painful emotions in order to regain my composure.

I come off as off-putting, maybe? I tend to say things I know will end the interaction quickly but aren't like super mean. I'm not really sure how to explain it. Just questionably polite enough. I have a lot of anxiety around talking to people. I can't just say a thing and be content with it. I have to agonize over every tiny thing, how my lip probably moved the wrong way that doesn't match my inflection, and while I'm agonizing I worry that maybe I'm missing important pieces of what the person is telling me and that makes my internal freak-out worse.

I don't really socialize a lot on my own time. I have a partner and two best friends, one local to me, and one across the country. They're the only people who really get me and I love being around them. But when I have to be around other people even for short amounts of time the anxiety I feel is ridiculous and I know it isn't really the people's fault, I just get nervous about talking. Which is why I feel evil for not being friendly. Since they have no way of knowing what is going on inside me and could think that I don't like them or have a personal vendetta against them. I never want to be mean or hurt someone, that's the last thing I want to do. But there's no way to tell a stranger "Hey! Sorry I'm rude, it's because socializing makes me wanna cry!" and I wouldn't want them to know that either.