Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
435 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How do 7s perceive fear? Do you like to be scared, or do you seek-out scary situations? Do you enjoy scary movies?

I'm curious, because for myself, I am afraid of a lot of things, mostly things of the "unknown" if that makes any sense. However, in situations involving physically being around people, I am hardly ever scared. A specific example is that I work in the mental health field, and walking onto the units at the psychiatric facilities, I feel completely at ease around these men who are incarcerated due to crimes related with their mental illness. Men, who at any moment would assualt anyone in the room if they were so inclined. Yet, I can't watch a scary movie, I can't swim in dark water, or enter a dark room, lol, it's sad, but true. I'm a grown woman!

Anyway, being the thrill seekers we are, do you seek-out situations involving fear to get excitement?

·
Registered
280 Posts
I try to escape fear, I feel like it prevents me from giving it my all.

I'm scared of being cut off and not discovering my potential.
I'm also scared of heights even though I rock climb

Most of all I'm scared of failure, and I try so hard not to be, but its still in me.

·
Registered
1,024 Posts
I definitely seek it out. I guess I like the challenge of overcoming it, especially if its an irrational fear.

I do roller coasters, I do rock climbing and other slightly extreme sports. Scary movies? I just find them to be downright hilarious.

·
Banned
2,078 Posts
I get over fears little by little or all at once. Sometimes they just don't want to go away though, and you just have to let things happen on their own.

I have this theory that when you force yourself to get rid of one fear, another fear will pop up. And the new fear can be even more obnoxious than the first, so you might as well stop obsessing with trying to get over your fear and be glad it isn't too debilitating.

Seriously.