Thoughts?

• Total voters
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,689 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

For example.
Take a bachelors in Mechanical engineering and a bachelors in philosophy.
Say ME is more in demand. Keep those costs for ME "high" while increasing public funding for students interested in said field (using the money leftover from the fields in low demand).
Lower the price of the low-demand field (philosophy in this case) while decreasing public funding.
Cost and funding will fluctuate as does demand
Feel free to destroy, adjust, or come up with a better idea.

·
Registered
INTP
4,214 Posts
About 20 years ago I had a BA in anthropology and was flipping burgers full time at A&W. A part-time cook there was studying chemistry. The full-time cashier had a master's degree in history.

After I quit that job I saw the chemistry guy working in Taco Bell. I said, "What happened to your studies?" He said, "I graduated! I'm the manager here now."

Just goes to show you the relative value of various degrees.

·
Registered
1,689 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
About 20 years ago I had a BA in anthropology and was flipping burgers full time at A&W. A part-time cook there was studying chemistry. The full-time cashier had a master's degree in history.

After I quit that job I saw the chemistry guy working in Taco Bell. I said, "What happened to your studies?" He said, "I graduated! I'm the manager here now."

Just goes to show you the relative value of various degrees.
That's extremely discouraging

·
Registered
74 Posts
@Marshy14

By "demand" you mean "lots of people want to study and it's very popular" [in my country it's pedagogy] or "if you have that degree you are earning a lot" [medicine and IT]?

·
Registered
1,689 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
@Marshy14

By "demand" you mean "lots of people want to study and it's very popular" [in my country it's pedagogy] or "if you have that degree you are earning a lot" [medicine and IT]?