Personality Cafe banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to fill out a position for a kennel assistant at a vet. I have some experience dealing with dogs and some cats. I'm very gentle and sweet with the animals, but I know that reason wouldn't fly. Hear is the question:
"Why should you be selected for the next available position?"

I don't know how to answer this. Please help.

·
Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You have to answer the question from the heart. You love helping animals, is this not so?
Well, of course, but I would think they needed a more professional answer and I'm not sure what answer I should give them. I can give them a very emotionally honest answer, but that doesn't fly well at businesses, which is why I'm asking for help.

·
Registered
2,077 Posts
Why should you be selected for the next available position?
Perhaps it may be easier to flip this question around. Imagine you have a pet that is going to have to stay within someone else in a kennel while you are on vacation. What kind of person would you want to leave with your pet? What qualities do you share with this person? That is how I'd look to answer this question from a logical rational perspective.

For example, are you conscientious around animals to look at the state of their food and water dishes? Do you know to routinely walk dogs? While these are fairly basic things they are the kind of things I imagine that those reading the answers would like to see rather than something like, "You know why I'm qualified for this, homey!"

·
Beer Guardian
PerC Host, ENTP 5w6 So/Sx 584 ILE
15,031 Posts
Well, of course, but I would think they needed a more professional answer and I'm not sure what answer I should give them. I can give them a very emotionally honest answer, but that doesn't fly well at businesses, which is why I'm asking for help.

I don't know what's wrong with saying that you have a passion for helping animals.

·
Registered