Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a software developer and an INFP and I am interested in meeting other INFPs who either were involved in the industry or are still involved as a developer.

My experiences have been very interesting. I really love Object Oriented Programming. But I have had a very hard time trying to develop a career.

From what I understand INFP is fairly rare in software development. I have had a hard time getting buy in for my software and my approach from management or from my co-workers. I am not very good at developing algorithms. But I am very good at OOP. I often hear the complaint that my architectures are too complicated or simply too difficult to understand.

I would really like to hear from others.

·
Registered
3,276 Posts
Hello Patrick, I am in that business. I love the logical side of programming. I hate the people side of it. If I could just do the logical side that would be great. And yes, not many INFP's would even want to do this kind of work. People can get very aggressive in this business with competition and trying to outdo others. That is very though on the INFP, it is for me anyway. I would love to talk to you and compare notes. I am currently writing most of my programs in VB.net and love any object oriented programming. But I have done the inline coding too and that is fun but a different mindset than the OOP. But over the years I have used many different languages. Which ones are you currently using?

·
Registered
453 Posts
I wrote before about how I think INFPs make the best programmers: INFP Programmers*

I think for INFP's the best career is not finding a dayjob, but starting startups, this is a good read: What Business Can Learn from Open Source

It basically comes down to the fact we *hate* working under a manager; we just hate being told what to do and being confined to a schedule.

If you work on your own startup, you get two things: