Personality Cafe banner
1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm fairly new to learning about personality types, but I feel I need some help in better understanding a situation I find myself in. I could do with some opinions of whether people think issues lie with me, my wife or our "compatibility".

The background ....

I am INTP and my wife is ENTP. We have been together 5 years, married nearly 1 year and have 2 children under 3 years old together. In January this year I found out my wife had become emotionally involved with another man who is INFJ. I am not going into specific details about how that happened as I am not sure it is necessary. The fact is, she used an opportunity she had to pursue this man (who initially rejected her) until he decided to "get involved".

We had many arguments, discussions, etc, between Jan and March. The upshot was that she feels like she loves us both but in different ways. She refused to end her relationship with him (which wasn't physical beyond kissing - but that's still bad for me) but also refused to be the person to end our marriage. I decided to move out, but we have found separating hard.

As a result we are in the strange position where we are still seeing each other in the romantic sense and sexually. She is not being sexual with the other man but still seeing him and feels deeply emotionally involved with him. She is clearly torn. I am maintaining things as I love her and hope she may choose me in the longer term and cannot tear myself away.

Since I moved out I actually feel like we have become closer, sorted out some of the issues in our relationship, become more honest (not totally, yet) and our sex life has NEVER been better.

I should also add that she has heavy interest in personality types, so I think she thinks about its importance and relevance a lot.

So ...........