Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Ace of Spades
7w6 4w3 1w9 sp/so; Ni/Ne/Te-dom
3,253 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I keep being told by various doctors and researchers that SSRI's/SNRI's/etc are highly effective for anxiety disorders. I have no experience taking antidepressants as I have previously been highly against taking them (even though I was clinically depressed for a long time). I'm currently not at all depressed, but struggle with anxiety, poor concentration, and anger. Although one of my anxiety problems involves the side-effects of these drugs, I might be willing to give them a try.

Does anyone have experience taking SSRI's or other antidepressants for disorders, conditions, or symptoms other than Depression? No advice please, just personal experience.

Thanks in advance!

·
Banned
2,871 Posts
I keep being told by various doctors and researchers that SSRI's/SNRI's/etc are highly effective for anxiety disorders. I have no experience taking antidepressants as I have previously been highly against taking them (even though I was clinically depressed for a long time). I'm currently not at all depressed, but struggle with anxiety, poor concentration, and anger. Although one of my anxiety problems involves the side-effects of these drugs, I might be willing to give them a try.

Does anyone have experience taking SSRI's or other antidepressants for disorders, conditions, or symptoms other than Depression? No advice please, just personal experience.

Thanks in advance!
I'm on one. I don't notice a great deal of mitigation with my anxiety, perhaps some. If anxiety is your problem and they don't want to try you on benzos, why not Buspar? SSRIs are just more wide-reaching (from research and experience)

·
Over 300 Confirmed Kills
10,577 Posts
Anxiety(GAD) is exactly what l was put on Effexor for.

And before that l was also on Zoloft for ADHD, but it was with Adderall which they do quite frequently so l can't speak for the Zoloft alone.