Personality Cafe banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
I don't have fear of social situations, like feeling like I don't know what to say. I'm pretty confident in dealing with people, but they exhaust me sometimes. I have to deal with lots of people, too, but luckily my work is online. Having that buffer makes a HUGE difference.

Iit would tire me out to have to talk, face to face, with random people who simply present themselves before me, with whatever various personalities they are and moods they are experiencing. That would be exhausting to me.

·
Registered
629 Posts
UGH. Yes. YES.
I worked in retail and quick-serve food for a couple of years, and it was just one of the worst jobs for me.
I was, ironically, going to post something recently about this problem of social awkwardness in stressful situations, but never got around to it.

Honestly, I chalk most of my problems with small-talk and general socialization up to being an HSP...I really only get so shy and withdrawn when I am highly stimulated.
But I think a lot of it also comes from being an introvert (with strong preferences, at that), as well as from my Ni... small talk isn't easy for me. It takes a lot for me to just talk and talk about events or material things- I literally have to search my brain for the next topic. But get me talking about a theory, an idea, or an observation of any given person, and I won't stop talking for hours.

So, of course, put me in a situation with two extraverts with strong Sensing preferences, who are critical of and who disapprove of me, causing me intense anxiety and stress, and you've got one anti-social deer-in-the-headlights.
This is a real situation, by the way, and I'm grappling with the idea of how to carry on a normal conversation with the two of them, when I lack the capability to simply ask a question like, "how have you been?"
:|

So to close that rant, yes. It's horrible, and I'm sorry you deal with clamming up under stress too.