Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 166 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I learned I was an ISFJ when I was a freshman in high school, but I didn't realize that there was so much more to learn about MBTI types until a couple of years ago (to my delight). When I did discover these online forums, for ISFJ boards as well as other MBTI types, I thoroughly enjoyed visiting and reading through posts for hours.

However, I've noticed that for the past 6 months or so, I find myself taking long hiatuses from doing voluntary MBTI research due to this:

Most other types hate or, at the very least, don't seem to care much for ISFJs. "They're the most boring type." "They're so manipulative." "They don't use logic at all." "ISFJs are not introspective at all." Etcetera!

Sure, write me off as being stereotypically offended--"my feelings are hurt of course due to me being an ISFJ"--and maybe that's how I was initially but at this point I'm just pure frustrated.

I'm also an avid Youtuber and Black and I bring that up because most everyone knows that people behind computer screens can be awful "brave and open" about their racism online, especially on Youtube. I mention this to say that I think people in general, in their necessity to know what to expect from a certain group of people, create boxes (aka stereotypes) and leave it at that and call it at day, thinking that they've done efficient deductive reasoning. It frustrates the hell out of me for some people to have interacted with or dated one or even ten Black people/ISFJs and then think that it's fair to say that ALL Black people are loud or that ALL ISFJs are simple and boring. I'm sorry if you've had one or several unpleasant experiences with a person of a certain race, socioeconomic status, MBTI type, enneagram number, but give people of all types and ethnicities more credit than that! No human being HAS to act any kind of way, MBTI is simply a tool concerning a person's natural preferences.