Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
3,131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Often when I'm studying cognitive functions, I find myself running around in circles trying to figure everything out. Better just ask when I'm feeling a bit confused. ^^'

Anyway... The questions I have are seen in the title. I can pretty much understand Ne, Fe, Fi, Se, and Si well enough (for now, at least). However, recently I've been thinking about Ti and Te. And Ni. They still confuse me a bit. I've honestly looked into all of this, but my brain still has a hard time wrapping around them.

Somebody mentioned when you know where something is going or what someone is going to say before they say it, that's Ni. I'm not entirely sure whether to believe that. I do that quite often, actually. o_O Lots of people explain Ni in contrast with Ne, and how Ni is "slower". Which it isn't. Some things explain it as a "sudden realization" or something to that effect. It all just makes me more confused. x3 Because those alone don't really explain Ni to me.

Then there's Te and Ti. Quite honestly, the Thinking functions seem pretty alien to me. Te especially, the way it is described in most cases. There's always part of me that wants to recoil from it. People compare Ti to Fi, saying they're kind of similar. I'm not so sure about that. o_O

Well, anyone willing to explain these/point me in a helpful direction? x3

·
Registered
283 Posts
Ti is similar to Fi in a way that they both are subjective functions, they hardly consider opinion of others, they make decisions on what's right/true by using subjective view and what makes sense to them.

Ti is introverted thought process where to understand things you have to understand things a level under that.

I see Te as the "alpha male" function, lol, it's all about organizing and dominating, I think that it's function that doesn't need to understand things at previous level and can just simply think things are right because somebody said so.