Personality Cafe banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1,420 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Si-users.

I've come here for some help and feedback on how to approach this function. Let me explain.
I am a language teacher currently working on practice. My job is to create original and different classes for students to learn a foreign language (English). I am Ne-dom as you can guess from my being an ENTP and I use a lot of Ni and Ti especially when it comes to languages. Thinking outside of the box, looking for things in an original way, trying the unexpected has always been very easy to me (but, yeah, my organizing skills are horrible :laughing: ).

The thing is, now I need to do work team with this workmate who is some sort of Si-dom and who is at a loss when it comes to using Ne and Ni. Moreover, I'm verbally extroverted, I work better when in a group where I can express my ideas out loud and I'm an auditory learner (meaning, I understand information better when I hear it) whereas he is an introverted who needs to understand things inside his head before expressing them out loud and who's a visual leaner (he understands info better when he reads it or sees some sort of diagrams or pictures). So, as you can see we are totally different and we basically don't understand each other. For the time being there's only the two of us, so there's no way we can switch partners. And I like challenges and I believe he's not a bad guy, so I would really like to give him a try as a coworker.
For those of you, mainly introverts, with a strong Si and/or lack of Ne/Ni, or who know a lot about this, my questions are the following:
- You tend to rely on your past experiences so, how do you come up with an original idea, something you've never seen before?
- How would you like to be approached when explaining/sharing totally new and different activities you've never experienced before?
- From where do you normally start your brainstorming?