Personality Cafe banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
612 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What I will say is subjective, I'm not an expert in psychology, it's a mean to open a debate.

So there is this term: temperament, which is used to differentiate the genetic determination on our behaviour over the plasticity of the brain, which we can call personality. And it got me thinking, why there're people on this forum who say that your personality can not change unless you have brain damage or lived a traumatic experience. Now the use and the meaning of a word depends of its history and in which context its used. And so from there we could suspect that either Myers and Briggs got a rough idea of temperament, or that they mixed temperament and personality. They probably did the second, so we can conclude here that personality types aren't totally fixed by your genes and thus it is false to say that personality types don't change, they do, and you can even change it if you're willing to work on it.