Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2,195 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a college freshman and though my mom was kind of crazy in the way she raised me (2 hours of piano practice everyday plus other activities on top of that. But she works, which means that I actually did no hours until the weekend, when she would be home), she never quit her job, never was able to cart me off to places, and as a result many of her wishes for me went unfulfilled. From the cradle to college, parenting has become a 24/7 job intimately tied with the parents' ego, as if they live vicariously through their children, which I find overwhelmingly creepy. "Yeah kids, I have a dog in this fight too. Because if you don't get into that kindergarten right there, I feel like a failure and my whole reproductive endeavor and my belief in the awesomeness of my genes will be destroyed. I'm a parent, don't you know, before I'm an individual with thoughts and feelings, dreams and aspirations. I'm a parent before I'm a son or daughter, a cousin, a friend and a lover. If you don't fall though, my whole identity is negated."

Not saying a new mother should go into the business without any knowledge of how to raise a baby, but the proliferation of both parenting books, and parenting advice given by laymen (sometimes causing flame wars on mommy forums ROFL) is a clear sign of the middle class's obsession with children. Oh my god. My kid cried for two minutes. He's going to grow up with ADHD and brain damage. I have to breastfeed until 6 months old or else my kid's going to be dumb! /quits job, waits on the child 24/7 and being eternally paranoid, guilty and stressed-out that the child isn't being raised right/