Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2,163 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, this is my first time getting to know an ISTP male, and I admire him for his down to earth, no-nonsense mindset. We get along pretty well. Having been around mostly N/SJ males, I think he's interesting.

But when I asked him to join my friends (because they've been hearing about him and would like to see for themselves) he refused. Why is this? These are my closest friends and I would like them to know him too, and vice versa.

Is this like, anything permanent? Or just the beginnings? Thank you.

·
Registered
375 Posts
I'm an INFP, but your post caught my eye----I can tell you, if it were me, I would refuse too. Too much pressure! I'm an introvert! I hate people! Being with a group of people, especially ones who might have expectations of me or who I know are looking at me and "judging" me to be fit or unfit as relationship material=NOT HAPPENING. It is stressful in the first place to be amongst a bunch of people who are at a planned get-together (i.e. I can't escape without them noticing). Remember that your ISTP is an "I" and that his refusal is not a reflection of how he feels about you, it's in reaction to being in a position that he knows will make him nervous, uncomfortable, and stressed. Parties and such are NOT fun for an introvert, speaking for myself. Don't expect his reticence to change---it is a part of him. Hope this helped?

·
Registered
1,365 Posts
it might change over time once he gets to know em one by one. But a full out new group of "friends" of someone who want to meet me. Hell no. Just no. Starfish said it quite well.

·
MOTM June 2010
2,507 Posts
So, this is my first time getting to know an ISTP male, and I admire him for his down to earth, no-nonsense mindset. We get along pretty well. Having been around mostly N/SJ males, I think he's interesting.