Personality Cafe banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
884 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It isn't often I agree with TJ but I feel this timely video really incapsulates many of my thoughts.

What are your thoughts/opinions on Sony's decision?

·
Registered
INTP
1,752 Posts
Sony is being a coward. A massive, freaking coward. They should release the movie as planned and stand up to the goddamn threats against them. Giving in to demands is stupid, idiotic and if this starts becoming a trend where people can send in threats whenever they dislike a movie for any reason, it'd be the downfall of the industry, satire and freedom of expression. Threats? As writers and creators, we should be laughing in the faces of North Korea ((I say "we" as I'm an artist/writer and political criticism is my genre)).

I think this is a cowardly move on Sony's part and I have yet to see anyone actually agree with Sony on this; even people I don't usually agree with are saying this is a dumb move on Sony's part. What is the point of giving in? It shows weakness and fear, which is EXACTLY what the hackers wanted. Cool. Let the terrorists win. Real smart. Even if North Korea did anything, retaliation from the US and it's allies would be an inevitability and guess what? North Korea would be OBLITERATED. It'd be a dumb move on their part to even carry out anything they might be threatening to do. They ((both sides)) are just being stupid, overly-sensitive babies.

I wasn't going to see this movie but fuck Sony. I won't be doing business with them again as I don't want to support goddamn cowards who suck up to the bully on the street with little man syndrome. I've heard some other North Korea-related projects are being cancelled over this so fuck them, too. Nothing should be "safe" in film, fiction and art; everything should be explored. This fear-driven censorship is absurd and is not something we should allow to become the norm to any degree.

Grow a pair, Sony.

·
Registered
14 Posts