Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
598 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Perhaps this is totally my personal experience, or perhaps I can enlighten many with this idea. Maybe I am not alone. However, I do not think this is only specific to INTJs. I think all types could use this to realize how they can see mathematics for what it really is, and improve their lives. I just believe INTJs would find more things to get out of it. Nonetheless, I feel the need to share this idea. Mathematics is for anyone who wants to excel in many things. That's what I want to do to; I don't know about you (bars).

Straightforward: I do not think INTJs should be labeled "The Scientist". More than "The Mathematician".

I've been sitting on this ideas for several days as I do more research on Mathematics. I am a college student that is switching their major from Computer Science to Maths. I just finished a semester getting a dose of what it would be like to be a scientist (digitally) on some capacity, and I realized that I do not think INTJs fits being a scientist more than a mathematician. My reasons are below:

Mathematics comes from the root word: Mathema. Which is Greek for: study, knowledge, learning (I never fucking knew).

• I think a scientist is far more worried about a solution to a special case, rather than a general case like a mathematician would be concerned about. Not just solutions that will work now and for a while. But all the time. Where I think the INTJ would be more intrigued by. A mathematician would rather have the top down view of everything, which speaks volumes to an INTJ.