Personality Cafe banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
MOTM Dec 2012
12,239 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Inevitably, if you want to know the purpose of life you will have to look into religion and philosophy. All the great thinkers of history have walked on this well worn path.

·
Registered
223 Posts
I think I'm leaning more towards the idea that it is the structure of school and it's learning methods that is making me miserable, because of its extreme inflexibility.
This, couldn't get any truer.

College on the other hand, gives more advantage though procrastination always kicks in so a strong will is needed sometimes.

Well, what can I say, you've come a very long way. Just keep on following your curiosity, live and let live.

·
Banned
174 Posts
@Paphorial Hello. I think I can relate quite well. I'm only in my first year of university and doing science, as I've almost always wanted to become a doctor (albeit with additional familial pressure). But I don't always particularly enjoy it; it just feels like work. Medicine and science are not important to me as they used to be because I realised that nothing is important. I too keep flitting among architecture, psychology, and medicine, dentistry, even law. I also have many interests like you, and am fascinated by mysticism (less so theology) and philosophy, and visual/literary art.

We're young (though I'm much younger) and so I think the best thing is to keep our options open for opportunities or life-changing experiences that may occur later and that may induce us to change our minds. The only question is how does one keep their options open doing the same things they were doing for a long time when it is so difficult to do those things (like studying in a formal academic setting for you, and doing science for me). I feel that inevitably we will come to a point where we must just chug along blindly, just to keep options open.