Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am studying psychology, and the more I read about the psychodynamics of the schizoid personality, the more I find it fits me - introversion, detachment, interest in spiritual / philosophical matters, a fear of being too close to people, a very 'calm' appearance, lack of being driven towards one's goals, only a few relationships, lack of social skills, and so on.

Do all INFPs consider themselves as having a schizoid personality? In my framework a schizoid personality is different from a schizoid personality disorder, the latter being a diagnosis that may be given to the former when it is reasonably dysfunctional. The schizoid person comes with certain strengths.

·
Registered
1,016 Posts
I admittedly do not know much about it. But just from your description there.. Somewhat?

I am definitely very introverted (duh) and perhaps a little detached, or I guess I come off that way. And I do like philosophy.

But I fear the opposite of being too close to people.. Although I generally only have a few relationships, I am usually much more interested in other people than they are in me. I become very infatuated, even in friendships, because once I like a person I find them infinitely fascinating. I intensely fear losing them, or them not wanting to be close to me.

I don't really lack social skills so much as I lack a desire to interact with people. When I am forced to socialize, I'm actually quite charming, if I can say so myself. :p I'm good at small talk, despite hating it. My job entails meeting a lot of new people every day and I'm good at it. I just come home exhausted.