Personality Cafe banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The War of Art is the title of a book by Steven Pressfield on the challenge of the creative process. I bet that many INFP's can identify with this situation:

You have a desire to create, to express, to make your art and a dream to one day make a living from it. And at the same time you struggle with fear, doubt, self-criticism, self-sabotage, procrastination and distraction. To Pressfield, these are all manifestations of a force he has dubbed "Resistance."

This why you are a writer that doesn't write, a painter that doesn't paint or a composer that doesn't compose.

You have moments of creative bliss when the stars align and you feel that you finally found what you were born to do. But eventually the bliss fades. You're work is not finished and you struggle to return to it. Fear and doubt set in. You think, "I'm a phony. I'm not a true artist. I don't have the talent. I don't have the motivation. I don't have the determination."

You admit defeat. You are resigned to living an unfulfilled life. Until the spark of inspiration returns and the cycle continues.

I thought that this thread could be a place for sharing thoughts and experiences on the war of art. It has helped me a lot just to know that other people have a similar struggle. To know that this battle to be creative is not a sign that you're a phony, but actually that you are called to be an artist. The self-doubt just comes with the territory. It's part of the artist's burden.

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Here's a good video on the subject:

"'Eat, Pray, Love' Author Elizabeth Gilbert muses on the impossible things we expect from artists and geniuses -- and shares the radical idea that, instead of the rare person "being" a genius, all of us "have" a genius. It's a funny, personal and surprisingly moving talk."

·
Registered
1,449 Posts
Hmm... I kind of had an epiphany about this a while back...