Personality Cafe banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think it would be rather interesting for older, more experienced ENTPs to advise younger ENTPs on matters of academia. It's obvious that the quality of curriculum and style of teaching differs greatly from country to country, but even so we'll probably reach a consensus by generalizing a little bit.

For starters, four simple questions:

Where did you study?
What did you study?
What was the experience like and how did it effect you?
Was it ultimately worth it?

I'm sure we're all aware of the purely pragmatic benefits of having a degree, but I genuinely feel like those benefits wouldn't justify 5 years of boredom and dissatisfaction. My view of academia is rather negative and I associate nothing but boredom and platitudes with my education. I actually have some university experience, but I simply stopped going because I didn't feel like it anymore. I studied electrical engineering and classes were essentially mandatory (Had to be on 70% of all classes during the whole year). So my days back then consisted of spending 6 hours listening to some guy yammer on about really uninteresting stuff in the driest way possible.

I usually tuned out and started writing random things down in my notebook. After a month of classes university was just a place where I slept, listened to music and wrote my D&D scenarios. However, I truly want to be proficient at many things and develop many impressive skill sets in my life. I really don't think I'm lazy, and I think the word "undisciplined" just means "You're not doing things the way I am doing them so WAAAAAAAAAAAH". I'm currently thinking about going back to uni with a more positive attitude and trying to enjoy it, but it seems almost impossible. The whole thing places heavy emphasis on memorization and reproduction, and I feel like there's not a lot of room for thinking creatively or in some cases, thinking at all.

·
Registered
222 Posts