Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2,923 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
What is up my party people?!?!?!!

So this beast of a post was inspired in part by a recent thread on /r/INTP(reddit). It was a short article by the title, “A Letter to Extroverts.” I won't spoil it for you, in case you really, really, really want to read it for some reason, but the basic gist was, “i smrt, u dum, go away dumdum!”
I should say now that articles and posts of the sort infuriate me to no end. I will also say, if you are an INTP(or any introverted type) who thinks they are smarter or better than their extroverted counterparts because you spend less time laughing or talking, then I hate you. You're not great, and you're not a gift to the world. You're a neurotic piece of shit. YOU ARE NOT SPECIAL.

Story time:.
I work in customer service. Specifically, I work in 3[SUP]rd[/SUP] wave cafes. The reasons for this are many, but the main one is that I love coffee.
I don't just love drinking coffee, I love fucking around with it. I love taking an hour to make three pots of coffee, all different ways, and sipping them and thinking about how they are different. I love changing the grind, the temperature of the water, the speed of my pour. I love watching as it drips into my pot, and I love how it tingles on my tongue when I drink it. In short, I am a fucking nerd.
I have a problem though. I don't really smile that much. Oh, I smile when a customer comes in, and I smile when I give them their latte or whatever, but I don't really smile in between those. I'm concentrating, cause I care about the work I put in and the end product. I want the person on the other side of the bar to love what they drink and to come back because I gave them the best fucking coffee they've ever had. But I'm not smiling. I'm not asking them about their day or about their kids, cause(spoiler alert) I don't give a flying fuck about it.