Personality Cafe banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi hello my ISFP buds!! I'm a third-year university student, who is being progressively hindered by my poor time management and inability to focus. When the pressure's on and submissions are quickly looming, that's enough to get me going, but I'm finding that alone is just not cutting it anymore, and I'm starting to miss goals or perform under my own standard because of it.

I know that time management/the ability to focus is not inherently a personality-driven ability, but I thought it couldn't hurt to see how people similar to me do things, ya know? What kind of strategies do you have in place to help you stay on task?

·
Banned
699 Posts
Hi there! :) When I was in college (or even high school for that matter), I was partially motivated by the idea that, if I get everything done sooner rather than later, I'll be able to have more uninterrupted quality time doing something I enjoy after it's finished. I would reward myself with something once I made my goal as well, like an episode from a tv show I like, playing video games, making a random craft or getting to bake cookies or something. :p That gave me something to look forward to and helped me get it done faster.

Also, music helps me focus a lot. It has to be the right kind of music though, because if I were doing something more complicated like calculus or listening to music with lyrics while reading, it can be very counter-productive. But in general, music that has a good beat but isn't super wild and crazy helps me be weirdly productive. I even listen to music in the office while I work at my cube! I find that when it's totally silent, sometimes it's too easy to space off and daydream.

I am very kinesthetic too, so whether I'm listening to music or not, I will probably be tapping my feet, turning my chair, swinging an arm etc. as I do stuff, because that also strangely helps me focus.