Personality Cafe banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
887 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just curious about other INTJs opinions on Psychology and if you ever use it

Reactions: Nexus6

·
Registered
4,385 Posts
I love psychology. I've been reading psychology and medical books since I was 4. I'm studying to become a Research Psychologist, emphasis on Social Psychology or Forensics.

·
Registered
725 Posts
My favorite area of study/conversation. I read everything I can. In the last few years I have been moving far enough into neurobiology, particularly social brain hormone function, that I am doubting the amount of emphasis put on psychology over genetics. Right now I am studying Paul Ekman's understandings of human emotion which are very nicely framed in anthropology which is usually my preferred slant. Anything that pulls in Margaret Mead's work makes me happy. I am considering getting Ekman's cd's and maybe doing his seminar on lie detection through body language interpretation next.

·
Registered
601 Posts
I enjoy reading about psychology, especially Jung, because I just am enamoured of him, as a writer, thinker and person.

However, traditional psychology left much to be desired because it was so abstract and scientists lacked the subsequent advances in technology to study the brain properly, namely MRI and other kinds of tomography.

I think psychology combined with the fields of neurology and evolutionary psychology are very interesting. I enjoy reading the work of Robert Wright and Stephen Pinker as much as the writing of Jung for this reason.

·
Registered
291 Posts
Psychology is great. Finding the reason why the mind does what it does is also great. What is not great is the misunderstandings that can arise from the study of psychology, and the fact that the human mind is structured in a certain way for a reason: because it already works. Stop screwing with it.