Personality Cafe banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I graduated college in 2012 with a degree in Business. While Pennsylvania is nominally my home, I always felt more at home in the Bay Area (where I did undergrad) and I have since moved to Pennsylvania, in a city that's about an hour and a half from "home." I currently work in a low level position at a large hospital.

I took my position not because of what it offered, but what it could eventually offer. I had interned at this hospital during college for a few summers and the position I earned was advertised as a way to advance myself in hospital administration. At first, it seemed like a dead end, but I've come to learn that it does offer significant advancement opportunities. My bosses at this hospital have told me that they have "big plans" for me, while a former boss at a competing hospital has offered me a higher position at her hospital. (Currently being delayed, but not cancelled, by HR.)

Since I've gotten such positive feedback from all of my seemingly many bosses, and after meeting the people in positions I aspire to one day fill, I think I could advance quickly and fairly easily in hospital administration. But my question now is do I aspire to these positions?

What really bought this to a head was an eye problem. All of the sudden, one of my eyes became inflamed and very painful. I was booked an urgent care appointment with a resident. She spent about twenty minutes looking into my eye and then called for a more senior resident, who couldn't have been ten years more my senior.

Both of them had astounding technical and intellectual abilities. After an hour of assessing someone with an unusual presentation of what could be either a common or rare problem, they prescribed a treatment course that has at least been effective in reducing the symptoms and may have cured the issue.