Personality Cafe banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Banned
2,585 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just recently, i had no job

I called, I begged. Not even Mc Donalds wanted me.

I had this fuck-everything moment and sold a very big lie: I'm an expert in some vague B2B program. I was desperate for a job, I set dirty low standards.

A week ago I was called by company X, they told me they are in desperate need for people with experience in X. I was like fuck yeah, a job! In fact. They wanted me to start right that day.

I'm designing bio-tech equipment and illustrating them with flowcharts and stuff, my first assignment was to draft some sort of benziniolide-something reactor out of thin air while adhering to strict standards and protocols. All this for 11 dollar an hour.

The experience is great, the material is hard and challenging, I got a desk as big as my room, but still...I feel like getting 'used', the people there earn 100$+/hour and all they do is flirt around and brag about their new sportcar without actually doing anything.

I'm wondering, should I be whining about the low wage? Or be thankful for the experience? I realized that there are only 2 people capable of using the program in the company, the HR-manager is really pushing me to make more hours and expand my current activities to other IT-related activities.

When I saw the immense complexity of my work, I felt a sting of hopelessness and despair, to be honest, i have never seen anything like that, a bazillion valves, amperes,volt meters, hydraulic auto-cad systems, switches, temprature meters, locks, bouts, pipeline circuit, electeicity circuit all cropped on a single image.

·
Registered
ENFP
4,206 Posts
Reminds me of privilege. Some people have things handed to them while others have to work twice as hard to get where they want to be at.